Energy community of south-eastern Europe accepts further members

Nov 20, 2006 01:00 AM

Greek Development Minister Dimitris Sioufas praised a ministerial summit in Skopje by members of the so-called "energy community" of South-eastern Europe, the first after the signing of a pact to create a regional energy block by July 1, 2006.
The summit agreed to accept Cyprus as full member of the community, while another four countries --including Turkey -- received observer status.

The minister, representing Athens, presented several proposals during the summit: to begin immediate discussions over the creation of a two new regional energy markets between Black Sea and Mediterranean countries and to organise in Athens -- in June 2007 -- an international conference on energy-saving policies and actions to promote renewable energy sources.
Sioufas will also meet with several high-ranking Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) government officials.

In addressing the summit, development ministry secretary-general Nikos Stephanou said the country’s international energy interconnections were progressing rapidly and satisfactorily.
Commenting on a Turkey-Greece-Italy natural gas pipeline project, Stephanou said the Greek side will have completed its part of the pipeline by April 2007 and said he expects the Turkish side to do the same. Referring on the Burgas-Alexandroupolis oil pipeline project, he said consultations to sign a tri-party agreement to build and operate the pipeline were at a "very advance stage".

Source: ANA-MPA
Alexander's Commentary

Change of face - change of phase

In the period of July 20 till August 3, 2015, Alexander will be out of the office and the site will not or only irreg

read more ...
« June 2020 »
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30

Register to announce Your Event

View All Events