Five African nations elected into UN Economic Council

Oct 11, 2011 12:00 AM

Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Nigeria and Libya were elected, along with18 other countries, to serve on the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), one of the six principal organs of the UN tasked with furthering global economic and social cooperation and development.
At the elections held at the UN General Assembly in New York, the 193-UN member states elected 18 countries to serve a three-year term each, starting next year, and three other nations through by-elections held as some countries were stepping down from the 54-member Council before the formal end of their terms.

To join the Council, each country must receive a two-thirds majority of member states present and voting, regardless of whether or not they were the only candidate for a particular seat, which are allocated according to a geographical formula.
Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Nigeria and Libya were elected to the five African vacancies, while Indonesia, India and Japan won the three seats allotted to Asia-Pacific States. Belarus claimed the only Eastern European vacancy.

In Latin America and the Caribbean, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Brazil and Cuba were victorious, while Spain, France, Germany, Ireland and Turkey were successful in the Western European and other States category.
In the three by-elections, Switzerland replaced the outgoing Norway, the Netherlands succeeded Belgium, and Bulgaria took over from Hungary.

Alexander's Commentary

Change of face - change of phase

In the period of July 20 till August 3, 2015, Alexander will be out of the office and the site will not or only irreg

read more ...
« August 2019 »
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31

Register to announce Your Event

View All Events